Back to Architects

Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959)

Born: Richland Center, Wisconsin
Training: Attended University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin, 1885-1887
Worked for J. L. Silsbee, Chicago, Illinois, 1889
Worked for Louis Sullivan, Chicago, Illinois, 1889-1893


  • Larkin Building, New York, New York (1904) *
  • Unity Church, Oak Park, Illinois (1906)
  • Taliesin, Spring Green, Wisconsin (1911)
  • Midway Gardens, Chicago, Illinois (1914)
  • Imperial Hotel, Tokyo, Japan (1916-1922) *
  • Design St. Mark’s Tower, New York, New York (1929, never built)
  • Johnson Wax Museum, Racine, Wisconsin (1936)
  • Taliesin West, Phoenix, Arizona (1938)
  • Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, New York (1946)
  • Frederick Robie House, Chicago, Illinois (1919)
  • Millard House, Pasadena, California (1923)
  • Richard Lloyd Jones Residence Westhope 3700 South Birmingham Avenue, Tulsa, Oklahoma (1929)
  • The Price Tower, Bartlesville, Oklahoma (1956)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright began the independent practice of architecture in 1893 in Chicago, Illinois. Wright, Henry Hobson Richardson, and Louis Sullivan are the most influential American architects of the modern era. Westhope, Richard Lloyd Jones residence, is on the National Register of Historic Places.

* demolished